Case TS-F4953A3B27 Oct 2026MixedCompound claim

General

“BREAKING: US startup successfully produces the first ever gold grown in a laboratory" (image text) + "A US startup has announced that it successfully converted mercury into real, stable gold using nuclear fusion technology, claiming a production rate 10 times higher than CERN's previous record." (caption) + Intake claim text: "US startup…”

Plain restatementOn 21 October 2026, Marathon Fusion, a San Francisco company, publicly stated that it had used neutrons from deuterium-tritium fusion to transmute mercury-198 into mercury-197, which decays to stable gold-197, and said the rate exceeded a 2025 CERN result by a factor of ten. The accompanying headline further asserts this is the first laboratory-produced gold.

Partially accurate but misleadingConfidence High
What this verdict means →

Marathon Fusion, a San Francisco fusion startup, really did announce on 21 October 2026 that it used fusion neutrons to turn mercury into stable gold at ten times the rate of a 2025 CERN result. The nuclear process it describes is well established physics and has been known since the 1960s. However, the company has not released how much gold it made, how pure it was, what it cost, or what the "ten times" figure actually measures, and no independent party has verified the result. The viral headline calling this the first ever laboratory-grown gold is wrong: gold was made from mercury at Harvard in 1941, from bismuth at Berkeley in 1980, and CERN detected gold nuclei at the Large Hadron Collider in 2025. The quantities here are almost certainly microscopic, the company's current device runs at roughly one kilowatt of fusion power, and any gold produced this way would be radioactive and need over a decade of storage before use. The widely cited figure of two tonnes of gold per gigawatt per year comes from a 2025 computer simulation in a preprint that was never peer reviewed, not from anything actually produced. Treat this as an unverified company announcement rather than a confirmed scientific result.

The drift / as claimed vs as evidenced

[drifted from the evidence:] BREAKING: US startup successfully produces the first ever gold grown in a laboratory" (image text) + "A US startup has announced that it successfully converted mercury into real, stable gold using nuclear fusion technology, claiming a production rate 10 times higher than CERN's previous record." (caption) + Intake claim text: "US startup Marathon Fusion announced on [drifted from the evidence:] October 21, 2026 that it [drifted from the evidence:] successfully converted mercury into stable [drifted from the evidence:] gold using nuclear fusion technology, achieving a production rate [drifted from the evidence:] 10 times higher than CERN's previous record.


On 21 [added by the neutral restatement:] October 2026, [added by the neutral restatement:] Marathon Fusion, a San Francisco company, publicly stated that it [added by the neutral restatement:] had used neutrons from deuterium-tritium fusion to transmute mercury-198 into [added by the neutral restatement:] mercury-197, which decays to stable [added by the neutral restatement:] gold-197, and said the rate [added by the neutral restatement:] exceeded a 2025 CERN result by a factor of ten. The accompanying headline further asserts this is the first laboratory-produced gold.

Red-tinted words in the claim drifted from the evidence. Green-tinted words are what a neutral restatement needs.

The trace / claim to source

Where it appeared
Submitted image
✕ Fabrication
The claim rests on something that simply does not exist.
$ Marketing as evidence
Promotional material dressed up as independent proof.
⌿ Omitted qualifier
A load-bearing condition from the source quietly disappears from the claim.
Tertiary source
Wikipedia "Synthesis of precious metals" / "Chrysopoeia"
Secondary source
Gadget Review / Yahoo Tech, 23 Oct 2026, on withheld yield, purity and methodology data
Secondary source
Interesting Engineering, Business Today, TokenPost, Dealroom, 22-26 Oct 2026
Secondary source
Phys.org, July 2025, coverage of the original preprint
Primary sourcecompany material
Marathon Fusion official post on X, 21 Oct 2026
Primary source
Marathon Fusion arXiv preprint, July 2025, DOI 10.48550/arxiv.2507.13461, on (n,2n) reactions driven by D-T fusion neutrons
Primary source
ALICE Collaboration / CERN media update, Physical Review C, May 2025, lead-to-gold transmutation at the LHC
● Primary source found
What is true
  • Marathon Fusion is a real San Francisco fusion startup and it did make this announcement on 21 October 2026.
  • The company did claim a rate roughly 10 times CERN's 2025 result.
  • The described nuclear pathway (Hg-198 → Hg-197 via (n,2n) → decay to Au-197) is real, established physics.
  • CERN's ALICE experiment did report gold production from lead in 2025, and the ~29 picogram figure is accurate for that run.
  • Marathon's earlier published projection of about 2 tonnes of gold per GW-thermal per year exists in a July 2025 arXiv preprint.
  • The caption correctly notes that the 2-tonne figure is theoretical, that amounts and costs were not disclosed, and that the claim awaits independent verification.
What is misleading
  • Fabricated historical superlative: the image headline "first ever gold grown in a laboratory" is simply false. Gold was synthesized from mercury in 1941 and from bismuth in 1980, and CERN detected gold production at the LHC in 2025. The company itself did not claim a "first." This is the most serious distortion in the post.
  • Company claim presented as verified outcome: the intake claim text says Marathon "successfully converted" and was "achieving" a rate. No experimental data, yield, purity, or methodology has been published and no third party has verified it. "Announced" and "demonstrated" are not the same thing.
  • Undefined comparison: "10 times higher than CERN's previous record" is treated as a measured quantity, but the company has not said whether this means mass, atoms per second, or atoms per unit of input. CERN's figure came from a different element, a different mechanism, and produced nuclei that were never recovered.
  • Marketing framing as evidence: a gamma-ray spectrum posted on social media is presented in coverage as confirmation. It is suggestive of the intermediate isotope, not proof of recovered stable gold at a stated rate.
  • Omitted qualifier on usability: the headline image of gold bars implies marketable bullion. Any gold made this way would carry radioactive contaminants requiring well over a decade of storage.
  • Scale omission from the visual: the post's reactor-and-gold-bars imagery implies industrial output. The actual device is around 1 kW of fusion power and the quantities involved are almost certainly sub-microgram.
What is uncertain
  • How much gold, if any, was actually isolated. Not disclosed.
  • What "10x" refers to. Not defined by the company.
  • Whether the neutron source used is a genuine fusion device operating at the claimed conditions or a compact D-T neutron generator. Coverage describes roughly 1 kW fusion power, but detailed specifications were not located.
  • Purity, cost per unit, and reproducibility. None published.
  • Whether any peer-reviewed paper on the October 2026 experiment is forthcoming. No preprint located as of this writing.
  • Independent replication or third-party assay. None found.
Evidence summary

The announcement is real. Marathon Fusion, a San Francisco start-up, said on X on 21 October 2026 that it had turned mercury into gold using fusion neutrons, writing that it had demonstrated "high-rate alchemy: turning mercury into real, stable gold, beating CERN's record by a factor of 10". Mainstream coverage followed, with Euronews reporting that the small San Francisco fusion company announced it had transmuted mercury into stable gold the previous month, beating a record set by CERN tenfold. The underlying physics is established and uncontroversial. A 14-MeV neutron from deuterium-tritium fusion strikes mercury-198, producing mercury-197, a radioactive isotope, and that isotope then decays into stable gold-197. Marathon states the relevant cross-section has been measured since the 1960s. The experimental result itself is not publicly documented. No independent data or yield figures have been released, and the company cites gamma-ray spectra but withholds yield, purity, and methodology data from its October 21 announcement. The company has not clarified whether the "10x" comparison measures total mass or nuclei per second. One review found the basis for comparing the rate with CERN's different experiment remains unclear, and no independent verification of the announcement was found. The "first ever gold grown in a laboratory" element is contradicted by the historical record. Artificially creating gold was achieved in 1941 at Harvard University with the neutron bombardment of mercury samples, and in 1980 with carbon and neon nucleus bombardment of bismuth-209 by a team including Glenn T. Seaborg at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory. CERN's ALICE collaboration also reported in 2025 that about 86 billion gold nuclei were created at the four major LHC experiments during Run 2 (2015-2018).

Complete reasoning
The announcement, the date, the company, the mechanism, and the CERN comparison figure are all real and verifiable, and the caption text is unusually careful about hedging. However, two elements materially distort the picture. The image headline asserts a world first that is contradicted by documented laboratory gold synthesis in 1941, 1980, and 2025, and the claim text converts an undocumented, unverified, self-reported company assertion into a stated achievement. The "10x CERN" figure is a company claim with no published yield, no defined denominator, and a benchmark drawn from a fundamentally different experiment, so it cannot presently be evaluated as a measurement.
Use this case

The reply is formatted for pasting into the thread where the claim is circulating.

Ask this case

Answers come only from the case file above; nothing is added.

Did Marathon Fusion really announce it turned mercury into gold?

Yes. On 21 October 2026 the San Francisco startup posted on X that it used fusion neutrons to convert mercury into stable gold, claiming a rate ten times higher than a 2025 CERN result.

Is this really the first gold ever made in a laboratory?

No, that headline claim is false. Gold was made from mercury at Harvard in 1941, from bismuth at Berkeley in 1980, and CERN itself detected gold nuclei at the Large Hadron Collider in 2025. Marathon Fusion did not claim a first itself.

Has anyone verified how much gold was actually produced?

No. The company has not released the yield, purity, or methodology behind its announcement, and no independent party has verified the result.

What does the 'ten times CERN's record' figure actually mean?

This is not clearly defined. The company has not said whether the comparison measures total mass, nuclei per second, or something else, and CERN's result came from a different element and a different process.

Could this gold actually be used or sold?

Not as described. Any gold produced this way would be radioactive and would need more than a decade of storage before it could be used, and the actual device involved runs at roughly one kilowatt of fusion power, suggesting quantities are almost certainly extremely small.

Similar cases on record

Partially accurate but misleading: On 21 October 2026, Marathon Fusion, a San Francisco company, publicly stated that it had … | TrueSeeker