Case TS-C68B72267 Nov 2026nutrition

Pets

“A new 2026 systematic review published in the peer-reviewed journal Animals found that 77% of puppy foods tested failed to meet at least one essential mineral requirement." (Post graphic: "NEW STUDY: SCIENTISTS FIND MINERAL IMBALANCES IN 77% OF PUPPY FOODS TESTED")”

Plain restatementA 2026 systematic review in the journal Animals reported that 77 percent of tested puppy foods did not meet at least one essential mineral requirement.

Partially accurate but misleadingConfidence Medium
What this verdict means →

General information only - not veterinary advice.

The study is real. A systematic review on minerals in dog and cat diets was published in the journal Animals on 16 October 2026, and it did review 76 studies. But the 77 percent figure is not something that review found. It comes from one older study the review mentions, which analysed 26 dry puppy foods bought in Chile and compared them to a 2002 American nutrient profile. In that study the foods failed on all nutrients assessed, including protein, fat and energy, not minerals alone, and the main shortfall was potassium: about 96 percent of the foods did meet the calcium, phosphorus and magnesium recommendations, which are the minerals most associated with bone problems in growing dogs. The review itself cautions that measuring how much mineral is in a food does not tell you how much the animal absorbs, so a number below a guideline is not proof a dog was deficient. What remains unknown is how many of those 26 foods missed a mineral target specifically, since neither source reports that. Anyone with questions about what a specific puppy is being fed should raise them with a veterinarian. General information only, not veterinary advice.

The drift / as claimed vs as evidenced

A [drifted from the evidence:] new 2026 systematic review [drifted from the evidence:] published in the [drifted from the evidence:] peer-reviewed journal Animals [drifted from the evidence:] found that 77% of puppy foods [drifted from the evidence:] tested failed to meet at least one essential mineral requirement." [drifted from the evidence:] (Post graphic: "NEW STUDY: SCIENTISTS FIND MINERAL IMBALANCES IN 77% OF PUPPY FOODS TESTED")


A 2026 systematic review in the journal Animals [added by the neutral restatement:] reported that 77 [added by the neutral restatement:] percent of [added by the neutral restatement:] tested puppy foods [added by the neutral restatement:] did not meet at least one essential mineral requirement.

Red-tinted words in the claim drifted from the evidence. Green-tinted words are what a neutral restatement needs.

The trace / claim to source

Where it appeared
Primary sourcepeer-reviewed journal
Rodrigues et al. (attribution per journal listing), "Mineral Composition and Adequacy of Mineral Concentrations in Dog and Cat Diets: A Systematic Review," Animals 2026, 16(20), 3261, published 16 October 2026
Primary sourcepeer-reviewed journal
"Evaluation of the chemical composition of dry dogfoods commercialized in Chile used for growing dogs," Arquivo Brasileiro de Medicina Veterinaria e Zootecnia (SciELO Brazil)
Primary sourceassociation of feed control officials, model profiles, not a regulator
AAFCO Dog and Cat Food Nutrient Profiles (growth and reproduction profile; potassium minimum 0.6 percent dry matter)
Primary sourceindustry federation guideline
FEDIAF Nutritional Guidelines (European nutrient recommendations for growth)
Primary sourcepeer-reviewed journal
Davies et al., "Mineral analysis of complete dog and cat foods in the UK and compliance with European guidelines," Scientific Reports 2017
● Primary source found
What is true
  • The review exists as described. "Mineral Composition and Adequacy of Mineral Concentrations in Dog and Cat Diets: A Systematic Review" was published in Animals on 16 October 2026 at the DOI the post gives, and Animals is a peer-reviewed journal.
  • The review included 76 studies, the number the post states, made up of 58 analytical studies and 18 estimated-intake studies, drawn from a search of 7,943 records.
  • The review does cover kibble, canned, raw-meat-based, plant-based, home-prepared and therapeutic diets, as the post's graphic says.
  • A 23 percent figure does appear in the review, and 77 percent is its correct arithmetic inverse.
  • The review's text states that commercial positioning did not consistently predict adequacy, which supports the post's point that higher price did not reliably track better mineral balance.
  • Shortfalls against reference profiles were reported across multiple diet categories in the included studies, so the post's broad statement that imbalances were reported in every food category is consistent with the review.
What is misleading
  • The post says the systematic review "found" the 77 percent. The review did not test any puppy foods and did not calculate a pooled figure. The number comes from one study the review summarises, an analysis of 26 dry diets for growing dogs bought in Chile. Crediting a single included study's result to the review makes it sound as though 76 studies' worth of evidence stands behind it.
  • The failure criterion has been changed. The original study reported that 77 percent would not satisfy all evaluated nutritional requirements, a list that included crude protein, essential amino acids, total fat, linoleic acid and energy as well as minerals. The review restates this as "all evaluated AAFCO nutrient specifications." The post converts it to "at least one essential mineral requirement," which is a narrower criterion the sources do not report at that number.
  • "77% of puppy foods tested" reads as a figure about puppy food in general. It describes 26 dry extruded products on sale in one national market at one time, judged against the 2002 edition of a United States model profile. It says nothing measured about puppy foods on sale elsewhere or now.
  • The single mineral driving most of the failures is not mentioned. In the underlying study, 9 of 26 foods met the potassium minimum of 0.6 percent dry matter, while 96.2 percent met the calcium, phosphorus and magnesium recommendations. A reader seeing "mineral imbalances in puppy food" is likely to think of the calcium and phosphorus problems associated with skeletal disease in growing dogs, which is the area where the underlying study found the fewest shortfalls.
  • The post presents the figure as new. The review is from 2026, but it included studies published between 2005 and 2025, and the 77 percent comes from one of those older included studies measured against a 2002 nutrient profile that has since been revised.
  • The review's central caution is dropped. The review states that evidence on how much dietary mineral is actually absorbed is limited and that inferring adequacy from total mineral concentration alone is uncertain. A measured concentration below a profile minimum is not the same as a documented deficiency in an animal, and the post treats the two as equivalent.
  • The actions the post recommends, adding fresh toppers, rotating brands and using the account's own recipe book, are presented as following from the review. Adding unbalanced toppers to a complete diet alters the nutrient profile of what the animal eats and the review contains no test of any of these actions.
What is uncertain
  • The proportion of the 26 foods that failed at least one mineral specification specifically is not reported in either source. From the per-nutrient figures it is at least 65.4 percent, from potassium alone, and at most 77 percent, but the exact number is undetermined.
  • The publication year and authorship of the underlying Chilean study were not retrieved, so how old the 77 percent figure is cannot be stated precisely beyond the review's 2005 to 2025 inclusion window.
  • Funding and conflict-of-interest declarations for both the review and the underlying study were not retrieved, so independence cannot be confirmed in either direction.
  • Whether products failing a concentration threshold produced any health effect in dogs was not measured by either source. No clinical outcome data is attached to the 77 percent.
  • The post's secondary figure, 7 of 8 weight-loss veterinary diets potentially falling short under calorie-restricted feeding, was not separately traced to its original study and is uninvestigated here.
Evidence summary

The review is real and is correctly identified. Animals 2026, 16(20), 3261 was published on 16 October 2026 and is a systematic review of mineral composition and adequacy in dog and cat diets. Its search returned 7,943 records, of which 3,499 were duplicates, and 76 studies met inclusion: 58 analytical studies and 18 based on estimated mineral intake or adequacy. Included studies were published between 2005 and 2025 and covered conventional commercial, raw-meat-based, plant-based, home-prepared and therapeutic diets. The 77 percent figure is not a result the review generated. The review is descriptive and reports individual included studies. In its text it summarises one included study, reference [21], which "evaluated 26 commercial dry diets formulated for growing dogs." In that study 96.2 percent met recommended concentrations for calcium, phosphorus and magnesium, 80.8 percent for sodium and zinc, and 34.6 percent for potassium. The review then states that "only 23% of the diets fulfilled all evaluated AAFCO nutrient specifications." Tracing reference [21] to the original: it is an analysis of dry dog foods sold in Chile for growing dogs. Its stated objective was to determine crude protein, essential amino acids, total fat, linoleic acid and minerals, compared against the AAFCO (2002) growth profiles. Its abstract reports that the majority of the foods, 77 percent, "would not satisfy all nutritional requirements of the growing dog." Reported per-nutrient adequacy included 92.3 percent (24 of 26) for iodine, 88.5 percent (23 of 26) for chloride, 80.8 percent (21 of 26) for sodium and zinc, and 9 of 26 for potassium. The failure criterion was therefore all evaluated nutrient specifications, which included protein, amino acids, fat, linoleic acid and metabolisable energy alongside minerals, not minerals alone. The review's own framing is cautious. Its simple summary states that evidence remained limited on how much of the mineral content is absorbed and used by animals and on long-term exposure effects, and it calls for better monitoring. Its limitations section notes that current evidence largely overlooks mineral bioaccessibility and bioavailability, and that this is an important source of uncertainty when adequacy is inferred from total mineral concentrations alone. On two secondary points in the post: the review's text does state that commercial positioning did not consistently predict adequacy, which matches the post's "premium pricing didn't reliably predict better mineral balance." The "76 studies" figure is correct.

Complete reasoning
The review is real, correctly cited by DOI, and a 23 percent figure genuinely appears in it, so "False" and "Unverified" were both rejected: this is not a fabricated statistic and the source chain resolves cleanly. "Mostly accurate" was rejected because three changes compound rather than simplify: a single included study's result is credited to the whole review, the failure criterion shifts from all evaluated nutrient specifications to mineral requirements, and 26 dry products from one national market measured against a 2002 profile become "puppy foods tested." "Accurate" fails on the same grounds, and the omission that calcium, phosphorus and magnesium adequacy was 96.2 percent while potassium drove the failures points a reader toward the opposite of what the underlying data shows about skeletal minerals. Confidence is Medium rather than High because the full text of the review and the underlying study's year and funding were not retrieved, and because the mineral-only failure rate, the exact thing the claim asserts, is not reported by either source.
Use this case

The reply is formatted for pasting into the thread where the claim is circulating.

Similar cases on record

Partially accurate but misleading: A 2026 systematic review in the journal Animals reported that 77 percent of tested puppy f… | TrueSeeker