Case TS-A0DC4B956 Nov 2026ChartCompound claim

General

“The average yearly cost to attend Williams College (minus grants and scholarships) is about $15,000, which is less than the roughly $23,000 in-state cost at the University of Massachusetts Amherst." (WSJ infographic, via Instagram; caption: "Students at Williams College pay less to attend on average than the in-state cost at the…”

This post lists 5 claims. We checked item 1.

Plain restatementAccording to U.S. Department of Education data, the average annual net price at Williams College is approximately $15,000, which is lower than the approximately $23,000 average annual in-state net price at UMass Amherst.

Partially accurate but misleadingConfidence Medium
What this verdict means →

The numbers in this Wall Street Journal graphic are real. Federal Education Department data does show an average annual net price of roughly $15,000 to $16,000 at Williams College and roughly $23,000 for in-state students at UMass Amherst. But the federal metric only averages students who receive federal financial aid, and the post does not say that. At Williams, only about 53% of students receive any financial aid, so roughly half the student body pays close to the full sticker price of about $94,000 a year. That means the accurate statement is that aided Williams students pay less than aided in-state UMass students, not that Williams students generally pay less. The same federal dataset gives a Williams figure of about $26,775 when measured against federal loan recipients, which would flip the comparison. The underlying point that elite private colleges heavily discount tuition for lower and middle income families is well supported, but the headline comparison depends on a subset of students that the graphic does not disclose.

The drift / as claimed vs as evidenced

The average [drifted from the evidence:] yearly cost to attend Williams College [drifted from the evidence:] (minus grants and scholarships) is [drifted from the evidence:] about $15,000, which is [drifted from the evidence:] less than the [drifted from the evidence:] roughly $23,000 [drifted from the evidence:] in-state cost at the University of Massachusetts Amherst." (WSJ infographic, via Instagram; caption: "Students at Williams College pay less to attend on average [drifted from the evidence:] than the in-state [drifted from the evidence:] cost at [drifted from the evidence:] the University of Massachusetts Amherst.")


[added by the neutral restatement:] According to U.S. Department of Education data, the average [added by the neutral restatement:] annual net price at Williams College is [added by the neutral restatement:] approximately $15,000, which is [added by the neutral restatement:] lower than the [added by the neutral restatement:] approximately $23,000 average [added by the neutral restatement:] annual in-state [added by the neutral restatement:] net price at [added by the neutral restatement:] UMass Amherst.

Red-tinted words in the claim drifted from the evidence. Green-tinted words are what a neutral restatement needs.

The trace / claim to source

Where it appeared
◔ Subgroup generalization
A result observed in a narrow group is presented as true for everyone.
Tertiary source
Republication of the underlying WSJ article (Terell Wright, early Nov 2026) confirming the article exists
Secondary source
IPEDS-derived institutional net price figures as republished by Data USA (Williams, 2024)
Secondary source
IPEDS/Scorecard net price figures for UMass Amherst as republished by CollegeSimply and EdSmartData
Secondary source
U.S. News Williams College financial aid page (net price by income band, net price for federal loan recipients)
Secondary source
College Board BigFuture Williams College costs page (share receiving aid, average aid package)
Primary sourcefederal agency
U.S. Department of Education, College Scorecard glossary and data documentation
● Primary source found
What is true
  • The WSJ article exists and was published in early November 2026, authored by Terell Wright. Its framing is that students at Williams pay less to attend on average than the in-state cost at UMass Amherst, and that Grinnell students pay less than Iowans at the University of Iowa.
  • The $15,000 Williams figure is consistent with federal net price data (reported variously as $14,750 to $17,716 depending on year and subset, with $15,894 for 2024).
  • The $23,000 UMass Amherst figure is consistent with federal data ($22,383 to $22,948 depending on vintage).
  • The directional claim is correct under this metric: Williams' average net price for aided students is materially lower than UMass Amherst's average in-state net price for aided students.
  • The graphic's note correctly states that public college costs are based on in-state tuition, which matches the Scorecard methodology.
  • The broader context is real: elite private colleges do discount heavily. Williams' average aid package is reported at $76,769, and Williams eliminated loans and work-study from aid packages beginning fall 2022, with all-grant aid for families under $75,000 and between $75,000 and $175,000.
What is misleading
  • Omitted qualifier. The graphic's note says figures are "average yearly cost to attend, minus any grants and scholarships." It does not say the averages cover only students who receive federal financial aid. That restriction is central to the Department of Education's own definition of the metric.
  • Subgroup generalization. The caption states "Students at Williams College pay less to attend on average than the in-state cost at UMass Amherst." That is not what the data show. Roughly 47% of Williams students receive no aid and pay near the full sticker price. An average across the entire Williams student body would be far above $23,000. The accurate statement is about aided students, not "students at Williams."
  • Metric sensitivity not disclosed. The same federal dataset yields $26,775 for Williams when the subset is federal loan recipients, which would reverse the headline comparison. Choosing one subset without flagging the others overstates how robust the finding is.
  • Comparability framing. Williams and UMass aided populations are not demographically equivalent. Williams admits roughly 8 to 9% of applicants and its aided cohort is selected from a very different applicant pool. The graphic invites a direct consumer comparison that does not hold for any given individual student, whose actual cost depends on income, assets, and admission.
  • Headline framing. "The Best College Bargain Is a Super-Pricey Elite Liberal Arts School" implies general affordability, when the affordability applies to the subset of admitted students who qualify for substantial need-based aid.
What is uncertain
  • The exact College Scorecard data vintage WSJ used. Available republications span 2019-20 through 2024, and the figures drift by several thousand dollars. I could not retrieve the raw Scorecard institution file to pin the precise rows behind the chart.
  • The other four school pairs in the graphic (Swarthmore vs Penn State, Wesleyan vs UConn, Bowdoin vs Maine, Grinnell vs Iowa) were not independently verified. My search allowance was exhausted before I could check them. They are plausible given the same methodology but should be treated as uninvestigated.
  • The caption's specific Swarthmore details (sticker price $98,370, average aid package $78,118, nearly 350 of about 1,700 students paying nothing, and no tuition for families under $200,000 with typical assets) were not independently verified.
  • The share of UMass Amherst students receiving federal aid, which would show how representative its $23,000 figure is of its own student body, was not retrieved.
Evidence summary

The underlying WSJ article is real and recent, and the two headline figures match federal net price data. For Williams College, federal data republished by Data USA shows an average net price of $15,894 in 2024, up 6.44% from 2023, against median undergraduate tuition of $68,240. Other IPEDS-derived republications of earlier or differently-vintaged data show Williams net prices of $16,988 for students receiving grant or scholarship aid and $17,716. U.S. News reports a net price of $14,750 for the average student receiving need-based aid against a total cost of $94,450. For UMass Amherst, the average reported annual net price for students receiving grants or scholarship aid was $22,948 in 2023/2024, against in-state tuition of $17,772. Another aggregator reports a College Scorecard average net price of $22,857, defined as cost of attendance minus average grant aid for aided undergraduates. A third reports in-state tuition of $17,772 and average net price of $22,383, with a total four-year net cost of $89,532. So the rounded comparison of roughly $15,000 versus roughly $23,000 is a fair reading of the federal numbers for the metric being used.

Complete reasoning
Both dollar figures are real and consistent with U.S. Department of Education net price data, and the directional comparison holds for the metric used, so this is not fabrication or error. The distortion is an omitted qualifier that materially changes meaning: the federal metric averages only students receiving federal financial aid, while the caption generalizes it to "students at Williams College," roughly half of whom receive no aid and pay close to a $94,000 sticker price. Confidence is Medium rather than High because I verified the figures through multiple independent republications of IPEDS and College Scorecard data rather than the raw federal file, the exact data vintage WSJ used is unconfirmed, and four of the five school pairs in the graphic remain unchecked.
Use this case

The reply is formatted for pasting into the thread where the claim is circulating.

Ask this case

Answers come only from the case file above; nothing is added.

Is it true that Williams College costs about $15,000 a year and UMass Amherst costs about $23,000?

Those numbers do match federal net price data, so they are not made up. But they only apply to students who receive financial aid, which the post does not mention.

So do Williams students generally pay less than UMass Amherst students?

Not as a general statement. About 53% of Williams students receive any aid, meaning roughly half the student body pays close to the full sticker price of about $94,000 a year, so the comparison only holds for the aided subset, not for 'students at Williams' as a whole.

Why does the verdict say the claim is misleading if the figures are accurate?

The figures are accurate for a specific group, students receiving federal financial aid, but the caption presents them as if they describe all students at each school. That omitted qualifier changes the meaning of the comparison.

Could the comparison have come out differently with other data?

Yes. The same federal dataset shows a Williams net price of about $26,775 when looking at federal loan recipients instead of aided students generally, which would reverse the headline comparison.

Does this mean Williams is not actually a good deal for students?

The case file does not establish that. It confirms elite private colleges like Williams do heavily discount tuition through need-based aid, including eliminating loans for many income bands, but whether that counts as a better deal depends on an individual student's aid eligibility, which the graphic does not address.

Similar cases on record

Partially accurate but misleading: According to U.S. Department of Education data, the average annual net price at Williams C… | TrueSeeker