Pets
“A randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled study published in the Journal of Veterinary Behavior found that just 4 weeks of ashwagandha supplementation resulted in 44% less owner-reported pain in dogs.”
This post lists 5 claims. We checked item 2.
Plain restatementA four-week randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial published in the Journal of Veterinary Behavior reported a 44 percent reduction in owner-completed pain scores in dogs given ashwagandha.
General information only - not veterinary advice.
The study being cited is real. It was published in the Journal of Veterinary Behavior in 2022, it was randomised, double-blind and placebo-controlled, it ran four weeks, and it did report lower owner-scored pain in the ashwagandha group than in the placebo group. The problems are in how the number is presented. The trial had 24 dogs in total, only 12 of whom got ashwagandha, and those dogs were enrolled for stress and anxiety rather than for pain, with pain being a side measurement rather than the study's main question. The 44 percent figure does not appear in the published abstract and traces only to trade coverage connected to the ingredient supplier, where it describes how much the treated group changed from its own starting point, not how much better it did than placebo. The dogs received one specific standardised extract at 15 milligrams per kilogram of bodyweight daily, and the claim leaves out both the dose and the extract type, so it does not describe any particular product on a shelf. Veterinary guidance treats signs of pain in a dog as something to be assessed and diagnosed by a veterinarian, since pain is a symptom of an underlying condition rather than a condition itself, and a single small supplement trial does not establish otherwise. What remains unknown is how much the placebo dogs improved, whether any effect lasts past four weeks, and whether an independent group can reproduce the pain result. General information only, not veterinary advice.
A [drifted from the evidence:] randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled [drifted from the evidence:] study published in the Journal of Veterinary Behavior [drifted from the evidence:] found that just 4 weeks of ashwagandha supplementation resulted in 44% [drifted from the evidence:] less owner-reported pain in dogs.
A [added by the neutral restatement:] four-week randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled [added by the neutral restatement:] trial published in the Journal of Veterinary Behavior [added by the neutral restatement:] reported a 44 [added by the neutral restatement:] percent reduction in owner-completed pain [added by the neutral restatement:] scores in dogs [added by the neutral restatement:] given ashwagandha.
Red-tinted words in the claim drifted from the evidence. Green-tinted words are what a neutral restatement needs.
The trace / claim to source
- The study exists, the DOI is correct, and it is published in the Journal of Veterinary Behavior, volume 51, pages 8 to 15, 2022.
- It was randomised, double-blind and placebo-controlled, and it ran for four weeks, exactly as described.
- Pain was measured with the Canine Brief Pain Inventory, which is an owner-completed questionnaire, so "owner-reported pain" correctly describes the kind of measurement.
- The paper reports statistically significant reductions in both CBPI pain severity and pain interference compared with placebo, at P < 0.0001.
- The paper reports that the extract was well tolerated with no adverse events observed in these 24 dogs over four weeks.
- Ashwagandha root extract was given at 15 mg/kg once daily, and the post's caption is correct that the trials used standardised root extracts rather than plain root powder.
- The 44 percent figure describes the change in the treated group from its own starting point to week 4, according to the only source where that number appears. The claim presents it as the benefit of ashwagandha, which a reader will take as 44 percent better than placebo. Those are different quantities, and the published abstract reports only P values, not percentages.
- The study enrolled 24 dogs, 12 of whom received ashwagandha. "In dogs" reads as a general finding about the species. It is a result from a single treatment arm of twelve animals.
- The dogs were recruited for stress and anxiety, not for diagnosed pain. The claim presents pain reduction as the headline result of a study whose stated hypothesis and lead outcome was urine cortisol to creatinine ratio. Pain was one of several secondary measures.
- The claim says "ashwagandha supplementation" with no dose, no extract type and no standardisation. The trial tested one standardised branded extract at 15 mg/kg bodyweight daily. A different product, a root powder or a different amount was not tested, and the post's own caption acknowledges this distinction that the claim sentence drops.
- The material tested was supplied by the ingredient manufacturer, and the 44 percent figure circulates through that manufacturer's trade channel. The claim presents the number without that context, and I found no independent replication of the pain outcome.
- The Canine Brief Pain Inventory was developed and validated to detect treatment response in dogs with osteoarthritis. Applying a percentage change on that scale to dogs not selected for chronic pain is a stretch the claim does not flag.
- Secondary coverage has already applied the same 44 percent to two different outcomes, cortisol in one industry headline and pain severity in the body text of the same article. A number that is used inconsistently at its own source should not be repeated as a clean finding.
- Whether the 44 percent figure appears anywhere in the published paper, and if so whether it is a within-group or a between-group figure, could not be confirmed. It is absent from the abstract and appears only in supplier-aligned trade coverage.
- How much the placebo group's own owner-reported pain scores changed over the same four weeks is not stated in any source I could reach, so the size of the ashwagandha-attributable difference is unknown even though its statistical significance is reported.
- Whether any of the 24 dogs had a diagnosed painful condition is not stated in the retrievable abstract.
- Whether the effect persists beyond four weeks is untested. No longer trial of this outcome was found.
- Whether the result holds for products other than the one standardised extract tested, including over-the-counter chews and powders, is untested.
- Long-term safety in dogs beyond four weeks, and safety in pregnant, growing, or medicated animals, was not assessed in this trial.
The cited study is real and the DOI resolves to it. It was a four-week, randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial in 24 client-owned dogs, 12 receiving a standardised ashwagandha root extract (KSM-66) at 15 mg/kg bodyweight once daily and 12 receiving placebo. The dogs were enrolled because they were experiencing stress and anxiety, not because they had diagnosed pain. The stated hypothesis and lead outcome was the urine cortisol to creatinine ratio. Outcome measures were urine cortisol to creatinine ratio, the Canine Behavioral Assessment and Research Questionnaire, the Canine Brief Pain Inventory and body condition score. The paper reports a statistically significant reduction in urine cortisol to creatinine ratio (P = 0.0005), a significant reduction in the CBARQ fear and anxiety domain (P = 0.03), and significant reductions in Canine Brief Pain Inventory pain severity and pain interference (both P < 0.0001) compared with placebo, with no reported adverse events. The published abstract I could retrieve reports P values. It does not state a 44 percent figure. The only place I could locate that number is trade coverage aligned with the ingredient supplier, which describes the Canine Brief Pain Inventory pain severity and pain interference domains dropping 44 percent and 42 percent respectively from baseline to week 4. That is a within-group change in the treated arm measured against its own starting point, not a placebo-adjusted between-group difference. The same trade outlet's own headline summary misstates the 44 percent as a cortisol reduction, while a separate industry article gives 27 percent for the cortisol measure, so the number has already been applied inconsistently in secondary coverage. On funding, the paper states that the research received no specific grant and that the authors declare no conflicts, and acknowledges Ixoreal BioMed Inc. for supplying the KSM-66 extract used. Every subsequent canine and feline ashwagandha trial I found used extract supplied as a gift sample by the same manufacturer. I found no independent replication of the pain finding by a group with no material link to the ingredient supplier. On the instrument, the Canine Brief Pain Inventory is an owner-completed questionnaire developed and validated in dogs with osteoarthritis. Separate veterinary research documents that owners frequently report improvement in dogs receiving placebo in lameness and pain trials, which is why placebo-controlled between-group comparison, rather than change from baseline, is the meaningful figure in this literature.
Complete reasoning
The reply is formatted for pasting into the thread where the claim is circulating.
Ask this case
Answers come only from the case file above; nothing is added.
Is the study behind this claim real?
Yes. It is a genuine four-week, randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial published in the Journal of Veterinary Behavior in 2022, with 24 client-owned dogs.
So where does the 44 percent figure actually come from?
It does not appear in the published abstract. It traces only to trade coverage connected to the ingredient supplier, where it describes how much the ashwagandha group changed from its own starting point, not how much better it did compared with placebo.
Was this study designed to test ashwagandha for pain?
No. The dogs were enrolled for stress and anxiety, and the main measured outcome was urine cortisol to creatinine ratio. Pain, measured with an owner-completed questionnaire, was a secondary outcome.
Does the claim describe a product someone could buy and give their dog?
Not really. The trial used one specific standardised extract (KSM-66) at 15 milligrams per kilogram of bodyweight daily, and the claim leaves out both the dose and the extract type, so it does not match any particular product on a shelf.
Has this pain finding been confirmed by other researchers?
The investigation found no independent replication of the pain result by a group without a material link to the ingredient supplier, and it also could not determine how much the placebo group's pain scores changed over the same period.